review

Book of Love: A Movie For The Hopeless Romantics

I recently viewed the Chinese movie “Book of Love” and just like what I’ve said in the title, it’s a perfect movie for the hopeless romantic, as its unifying thread is Love.

find-mr-right-2-book-of-love-movie-poster
Courtesy EDKO (Beijing) Distribution

The movie Book of Love, also known as Finding Mr. Right 2 is a Chinese produced film released in 2016. It was written and directed by Xue Xiaolu and was starred by Tang Wei as Jiao and Wu Xiubo as Daniel. In my opinion, the movie’s main genre is Romance-Drama, though it has a little bit of Action and Comedy.

Book of Love is about two distant strangers who both have their own imperfect lives but happen to fall in love through a fortunate stroke of serendipity.

That’s it, no more spoilers!  I don’t want to be annoying so I won’t divulge a detailed plot in this movie review. A hint that I can say is that the sub-plots with striking conflicts were a major component of this film. It was significant in building up Jiao and Daniel’s characters. Another hint is that it will give a cute twist to the old-school Pen-Pal scenario. I recommend watching it, you’ll understand what I mean. It’s good!

On the technical aspects, I can say that the cinematography is excellent. It was shot in wide-angle and featured a lot of scenic spots in Macau, Las Vegas, and London. The actors also did well on portraying their characters, letting the audience feel what should be felt. The only flaw on the technical aspect is that there are parts in the movie where they had this special effect that’s not that special and could’ve been better, knowing that it is already 2016. To some people the screenplay could be ridiculous but for me, it is perfectly fine.

To be honest, I’m not really fond of watching Chinese films except for Jackie Chan movies (hello? he’s a legend) so I did not expect much impact from this movie. Actually, the night before watching Book of Love I looked online and read the plot (I don’t recommend doing this though) and told myself Okay, I’m gonna watch it for the sake of saying that I’ve watched it, thinking that the movie would be boring and corny because if its cliché. But while watching it in the big screen, guess I proved myself wrong. I caught myself so engaged in the story that I laughed at parts of it, I held my tears so many times, and the one that I’ve never expected, I felt butterflies in my stomach.

marcusgohmarcusgoh-findingmrright2review00001
Courtesy Marcus Goh

All that I can say is that if it’s Love, then destiny would make its way.

Book of Love is an epic love story, perfect for the hopeless romantics.

Leave a Reply

